Protein Energy Bites

For the past two weeks I’ve been eating these little protein energy balls before or after a strenuous workout with my trainer and they seem to do the trick! It makes for a nice change from protein bars since they are filled with nutritious super foods like flax and chia seeds….oh and they are SUPER easy to make!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup reduced fat peanut butter
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 2 tbsp flax seeds
  • 2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 tbsp cacao nibs
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use plant based brand Vega One)
  • handful of goji berries
  • handful of dried cranberries

Directions

Stir all ingredients together in a bowl; mixing dry ingredients into the peanut butter and honey. When mixed place in fridge to chill for approximately 30-45 minutes (or until you remember). Remove from fridge and shape into small balls.

1-2 balls/serving should help provide you with the protein and energy you need for your workout or last minute breakfast. I find the chia, flax and oats help make it chewy enough so that I am satisfied with a smaller portion. I estimated 3-4 points plus values per ball depending on size.

Leave a comment