Photography Newbie

I must confess part of the reason I have stayed off the blog for such an extended period of time is that I wanted my photography to be perfect. Even though I use a DSLR and edit in Lightroom and Photoshop, I felt like a fraud not shooting in manual. Not to mention the level of aesthetic was not where I wanted it to be.

I recently confessed these feelings to blogger Blare June during a media dinner at the resort I work at. She said if I looked at it that way I would never post a thing and that I should just start writing and learn as I go. With these words of motivation ingrained in my mind, I decided it was time to share my thoughts, ideas and images with you all as I continue to work on my skills.

Earlier in April I met up with local photographer Evelyn Barkey to do a mini workshop on shooting lifestyle images in manual. Just sitting down and figuring out the different aperture settings and shutter speed for certain situations helped immensely. We drove out to Algonquin Park and set up a bonfire but Evelyn soon discovered I needed to learn photography basics for manual at home with good ol’ pen and paper and test on my own. I upgraded my lens at Henry’s to a 35mm and could finally lower the aperture past 4, which made a HUGE difference. Now it is up to me to get out there and test what I have learnt by shooting in manual at every opportunity.

I would highly recommend any new blogger or photography newbie to search out a local photographer on Instagram that they admire and set up a half day workshop. I have downloaded online tutorials and purchased how to books yet it never sunk in as well as the in person tutorial did. I believe that in the field experience is incredibly valuable because you see how the different manual settings function.

Below are some of my favourites from my recent photography adventures, enjoy!

DSC_4178DSC_4210DSC_4251DSC_4373DSC_4380

Leave a Reply

